About us

LOEWEFAIRThe Helmholtz International Center for FAIR, known as HIC for FAIR, is a LOEWE-Center (Hessian Center of Excellence). It was founded within the framework of the LOEWE initiative of the state of Hesse in July 2008. HIC for FAIR focuses and strengthens the expertise of the participating Hessian institutions towards one of the largest, fundamental research projects in physics: the Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research (FAIR), located in Darmstadt, Germany.

Organizational structure

Scientific Council

René Reifarth (Scientific Director, GU Frankfurt)
Marcus Bleicher (FIAS)
Christian Fischer (JLU Gießen)
Thomas Stöhlker (GSI)
Norbert Pietralla (TU Darmstadt)
Holger Podlech (GU Frankfurt)

Executive Board

René Reifarth (Scientific Director)
Gabriela Meyer (Administrative Director)
Kathrin Göbel (Scientific Coordinator)


Frankfurt Institute für Advanced Studies (FIAS)
GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt
Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen
Technische Universität Darmstadt

Expert groups

Expert group 1: QCD-Simulations, Dynamics and Medical Physics (Leaders: Stefan Schramm, Owe Philipsen)
Expert group 2: QCD-Phenomenology (Leaders: Robert Roth, Christian Fischer, Jochen Wambach)
Expert group 3: Instrumentation and Computing (Leaders: Thomas Aumann, Claudia Höhne, Volker Lindenstruth)
Expert group 4: Accelerator (Leaders: Oliver Boine-Frankenheim, Ulrich Ratzinger)

International Program Advisory Committee

Wolfgang Bauer (Michigan State University, USA)
Diego Bettoni (National Institute for Nuclear Physics, Italy)
Oliver Brüning (CERN, Switzerland)
Reiner Krücken (Tri University Meson Facility, Canada)
Nu Xu (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)

HGS-HIRe - Helmholtz Graduate School

Harald Appelshäuser (GU Frankfurt)
Henner Büsching (GU Frankfurt)


Goethe University FrankfurtFIASTU DarmstadtJustus-Liebig-Universität GießenHelmholtz GemeinschaftGSI